Tags

, ,

steve-jobs-from-dekuwa

I have been called an Apple Fan boy because I am a non Google believer. I also worship the ground Steve Jobs walks on because with out him cell phones and how we interact with electronic equipment would be different.

My first computer was an Apple back in the 80’s. You ether were an IBM er or and Apple, and even then people were bad mouthing people who had apple. I remember schools having Apple computers over PC in the early 90’s because Apple pushed convenience and how easy it was to use. Soon the PC took over and Apple was gone. It wasn’t till the mid 2000’s that Steve Jobs would change the computer and cell phone industry, and make it better and easier for people to communicate.

Today as I sit and write this blog with my MacBook pro, I amazed how easy it is to use. When you compare it to the new windows operating system ( Windows 8 ), you will notice the simplistic operating use an Apple has over a new PC.  PC’s still control the market. You have so many different PC makers trying to compete for your business. Apple keeps it’s operating system in house and they are the only company making their products. So it takes a lot of people buying their products to make a difference in the world compared the the PC. even then you still see the tables turning with the younger and older generations. No longer are you seeing major PC consumer sales, you are seeing Apple prying in on the PC sell, and appealing to the younger and older generation.

One of the many Steve Job’s quotes ” It Just Works” really does apply to most Apple products. I had a discussion with my co worker, and he asked why I haven’t changed from Apple to a Google device. I will admit that Google had made leaps and bounds to be competitive with Apple in the cell phone business, but when it comes to a well built device and how the device looks and works, Apple still takes the cake. I am also integrated into the Apple life.  I have all of my Apple products synced and with the cloud I have my photos and music anytime I need them. It would be to hard to switch now and to be honest it would have to be pretty ground shaking for me to switch products. At one time I thought that I would switch back to windows, then linux, but I have decided to stay with Apple. The experience you get with Apple you can’t match with any other operating system. When it comes to phones, i want simplistic gestures and minimal distraction. I want an operating system that never needs to be re booted or freezes. I hear about Google phones running out of memory and also freezes. The only way to fix it is to re boot the device.  I am sure the newer phones are getting better, but I am still not sold on switching.

I am curious to see what John Ive does with IOS. Scott Forestall designed IOS and now that he has been let go, it will be interesting to see what shape Apple chooses to go. They to know that Google is stealing some market share from them, and that they need to get people to switch back. Apple lead the way to new products that changed the way we interacted with them. I have faith that Apple once again will come up with something totally different and make us “Think Different”

Steve Jobs